THE RAPTURE Of an Affectionate SOUL before A CRUCIFIX Composed in Latin By the HOLY FATHER SAINT FRANCIS XAVERIUS.

S Francis X

O GOD, I love Thee, not to get
Thy Favour to be Saved ; nor yet
To Shun that sad Eternal Lot,
Design’d for those that love Thee not.
Thou, Thou, my JESU, to thy Loss,
Would’st needs Embrace me on the Cross :
Thou would’st endure both Nails and Lance,
Disgrace and Dolours; with a Trance
Of bloody Sweat, and boundless Seas
Of Anguishes and Bitterness;
Nay, even Death’s last Agony :
And this for me, a Foe to Thee.
Most loving JESUS, shall this move
No like Return of Love for Love?
Above all things I love thee best;
Yet not for Hope of Interest;
Nor for to gain Heaven’s Promised Land;
Nor for to stop thy threatening Hand :
But as Thou lovedst me, so do I
Love Thee, and ever shall, meerly
Because Thou art my King, my GOD,
Of love the Source, and Period. AMEN.

Transcribed by E.T.H. III from An abridgement of the life of S. Francis Xaverius of the Society of Iesus, new apostle of India and Japony. Printed at St. Omers. 1667

Leave a comment

Filed under Recusant History

Leave a Reply

