A prayer after receiving the Blessed Sacrament, by S. Bonaventure.

Transcribed by E.T.H. III from The Primer, or Office of the Blessed Virgin Mary. According to the Reformed Latin ; with like graces Priviledged. At Antwerpe, Printed by Balthasar Moret. 1658.

A prayer after receiving the B. Sacrament, by S. Bonaventure.

Pierce through, O sweet Lord Jesus, the marrow and bowels of my soul with the most sweet and most wholesome wound of thy love, with thy true, clear, and Apostolic most holy charity, that my soul may languish and melt ever by the only love and desire of thee, let it covet thee, and have a longing desire after thy courts, let it desire to be dissolved, and to be with thee. Grant that my soul may hunger after thee, the bread of Angels, the food of holy souls, our daily supersubstantial bread, having all sweetness and savour, and all delight of well smelling : let my heart always hunger and eat thee, on whom the Angels desire to look, and let the bowels of my soul be replenished with the sweetness of thy taste ; let it always thirst after thee, the fountain of life, the fountain of wisdom and knowledge, the fountain of eternal light, the river of pleasure, the plentifulness of the house of God ; let it always earnestly covet thee, seek thee, and find thee ; let it tend to thee, come unto thee, think upon thee, speak of thee, and work all things unto the laud and glory of thy name, with humility and discretion, with love and delight, with facility and affection, with perseverance unto the end ; and thou alone be always my hope, my whole confidence, my riches, my delight, my pleasantness, my gladness, my rest and tranquility, my peace, my well-smelling, my odor, my sweetness, my meat, my food, my refuge, my help, my wisdom, my portion, my possession, my treasure, in the which my mind and heart is always fixed and firm, and immovably rooted. Amen.

Another prayer after receiving the blessed Sacrament.

O Lord Jesus Christ, I humbly beseech thy unspeakable mercy, that this Sacrament of thy body and blood, which I unworthy have received, may be to me a purging of offenses, a fortitude against frailties, a fortress against the perils of the world, an obtaining of pardon, an establishment of grace, a medicine of life, a memory of thy passion, a nourishment against weakness, costage of my pilgrimage. Let it guide me going, reduce me wandering, receive me returning again, uphold me stumbling, lift me up falling, and persevering bring me into glory. O highest God, let the most blessed presence of thy body and blood so alter the taste of my heart, that besides thee at any time it feel no sweetness, it love no fairness, it seek no unlawful love, it desire no consolation, it admit no delectation at any time, it care for no honour, it fear no cruelty, who livest and reignest God, with God the Father, in the unity of the holy Ghost, world without end, Amen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recusant History

Leave a Reply

