A Prayer of St. Thomas Aquinas before Study

O Unspeakable Creator, which forth of the treasure of thy wisdom hast appointed out 3. Hierarchies of Angels, & placed them by wonderful order above the fiery heaven, and hast most seemly distributed the parts of the world : Thou, I say, which art called the true fountain of light and wisdom, and the highest beginning, vouchsafe to pour upon the darkness of mine understanding, in the which I was born, the double beam of thy brightness, removing from me darkness, that is to say, sin and ignorance. Thou which makest eloquent the tongues of them that want utterance, instruct my tongue, and pour into my lips the grace of thy blessing. Give me quickness of understanding, capacity of retaining, subtlety of interpreting, facility of learning, and copious grace of speaking : guide my going in, direct my going forward, & accomplish my going forth. Through Christ our Lord. Amen.

Transcribed by E.T.H. III from A Manual of Godly Prayers, and Litanies…At S. Omers for John Heigham 1623.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recusant History

Leave a Reply

